Skip to content
Search events. View events.

House of Representatives Republican Caucus

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[r29] House Republicans Honor Legislative Interns
Start Date: 3/4/2014Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 3/4/2014
Entry Description
House Republicans Honor Legislative Interns
Present “Intern of the Year” award
STATEHOUSE — The Indiana House of Representatives took time this week to honor their legislative interns for their hard work, dedication and service to the General Assembly. 
Interns working in the areas of member services, communication, policy and information technology were introduced to all 100 members, detailing their hometown and where they attend or attended college.
“I have been so impressed by this year’s intern class. They all work hard each and every day to make the legislative process run smoothly,” said State Representative Kathy Kreag Richardson (R-Noblesville), House Republican Caucus Chairwoman. “This resolution is a small token of gratitude from the House of Representatives in recognition of all their efforts throughout session.”
After their individual introductions, one intern in particular was given the “Intern of the Year” award. Each caucus of the General Assembly names a winner, based on various criteria including work performance, writing skills and legislator and staff evaluations.
Molly Szilard was awarded “Intern of the Year” for the House Republican caucus. Szilard is a member services intern who works with Reps. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis), Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne) and David Ober (R-Albion). She earned a Bachelor of Arts in Contemporary Global Studies from Lewis University and is currently a graduate student at the University of Indianapolis studying international relations.
“Every intern is key to our chamber’s success, and I greatly appreciate all that they have done this year in serving the state and the legislature. I would also like to commend the staffers who recruit across the state to bring in such a diverse and talented group of interns – it really takes a group effort. It has been a pleasure to work with this year’s class, and I am excited to see where these future leaders go from here,” said Rep. Richardson. 
Along with the recognition, Szilard will also receive a Verizon Scholarship of $3,000, which can be applied toward current or future undergraduate and graduate expenses. Verizon has sponsored this special recognition for the past nineteen years. 
The following is a complete list of the 38 House Republican interns and their hometowns:
Lauren Ayer, Pittsboro
Katharine Beideck, Pittsburgh (Pa.)
Katelyn Blankenship, Greenfield
Doug Boyle, Indianapolis
Joshua Burt, Fort Wayne
Hannah Fagen, Denver (Colo.)
Elliott Fain, Oxford (Ohio)
Alexis Fry, Kendallville
B.J. Gehlhausen, Jasper
Malika Graham, South Bend
Seth Hinshaw, New Castle 
Zach Holscher, Minster (Ohio)
Mackenzie Huth, Granger
Chris Jordan, Wheaton (Ill.)
Logan Judy, Orleans
Katie Klein, Crown Point
Brandi Klingerman, Bremen
Kelli LaMothe, Indianapolis
Eric Linville, Noblesville
Tatijana Marsee, Milan
Stephanie Melendez, Lake Station
Tyler Murrell, New Palestine
Lucie Nader, Fishers
Drew Neuenschwander, Bluffton
Nathan O’Connor, Indianapolis
Remington Taylor O’Guin, Chesterton
Keagan Pennycuff, Indianapolis
Rebekah Proctor, Greenwood
Cynthia Roush, Hillsboro (Ohio)
Kevin Sears, Noblesville
Steve Sharp, Valparaiso
Ryan Slager, Schererville
Abby Stimpson, Decatur
Aurie Swartz, Noblesville
Kelly Sweeney, Fishers
Lucas Sweitzer, Southport
Molly Szilard, Frankfort (Ill.)
Luke Wilson, Carmel
If you are interested in an internship with the Indiana House Republicans please contact Jason Johnson, House Republican Intern Director, at or Nick Goodwin, Communications Intern Director, at Applications will be made available in August of 2014. 


State Representative Kathy Kreag Richardson (R-Noblesville)
Contact Information:
Name: Nicholas Goodwin
Phone: (317) 232-9831
Attachments For This Entry:
    > Rep. Richardson honoring the House interns with a resolution.
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • Announcements
  • Celebrations
  • Category:
  • Government
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Education
  • Agency Name
    House of Representatives Republican Caucus

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search