- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Arts Commission

IAC > Governor's Arts Awards Governor's Arts Awards

About the Governor's Arts Awards

Governor Pence with 2013 Governor's Arts Award commissioned artworkThe Governor's Arts Awards program was initiated in 1973. Conceived in partnership between the IAC and the Office of the Governor, the program recognizes and honors significant contributions to and profound positive impact on the arts and the state of Indiana. The awards are presented every two years.

Since its inception, the program has honored artists, individuals, educators, organizations, businesses, and communities for their efforts to further public awareness of the arts. Past recipients include both the famous and less famous of the arts world, major corporations and small businesses, large cities and small towns. The IAC commissions a contemporary Indiana artist to create the awards.

Award recipients are selected by an independent panel of distinguished representatives from Indiana's arts, education, business, public and private sectors. IAC conducts a public call for nominations and the panel reviews and scores nominations based on specific criteria. The criteria emphasize the total body of work or contributions of the nominee and the impact of the nominee's work on the cultural climate of the city, region, the state of Indiana, or on the national and international level. A limited number of recipients are selected from the field of nominees to receive this distinguished honor.

2013 Governor's Arts Awards

2013 Governor's Arts AwardsGovernor Pence, First Lady Karen Pence, honorary chair of the Governor's Arts Awards and the Indiana Arts Commission honored the 2013 Governor's Arts Awards recipients during an awards dinner and ceremony on September 26 in Carmel, Indiana.

The 2013 recipients were Christel DeHaan, Cyntha Hartshorn, John Hiatt, Mark Kruzan, Sydney Pollack, and Traditional Arts Indiana. Bedford limestone sculptor William Galloway created the awards. For more information about the 2013 Governor's Arts Awards and the recipients, click here.   

Related Links

Artist Spotlight

Organizational Spotlight

Upcoming Deadlines & Events

View All Events »