An amber alert has been issued. Click here to visit the Amber Alert site. MESSAGE


Agency Links Links

Main Content

About the Indiana Poet Laureate

The Indiana Poet Laureate represents the state and the art of poetry through the development and implementation of programming to the educational community and general public. Making formal presentations at various educational facilities and events, the State Poet Laureate pursues individual initiatives to advance the knowledge and appreciation of poetry throughout the state, and offers advice to the Commission regarding ways to further the art of poetry in Indiana. 

Nominations for Poet Laureate Now Open

Nominations for Indiana Poet Laureate should be limited to one, single-page letter and a resume or CV detailing the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments. No additional materials should be included with the initial nomination.

Successful nominees must be current residents of the State of Indiana and remain residents during their two-year term of service as Indiana Poet Laureate. Nominees should be published poets, with experience in educational program development. Individuals who have been previous laureates may be nominated again.

Nominations must be submitted to Stephanie Haines at the Indiana Arts Commission by email only (, and must be received by 4:30 p.m. (EDT) Friday, September 1, 2017.

Review Process

All nominations will be reviewed by a committee of representatives from Indiana's major institutions of higher education. The executive director of the Arts Commission leads the selection committee. The committee will be convened this fall to begin review of nominations. The selected poet will begin serving a two-year term January 1, 2017.

Increasing awareness of poetry and the power of the written and spoken word was the inspiration behind legislation signed into law in 2005 creating the State Poet Laureate program. Joyce Brinkman was the first Indiana Poet Laureate to lead the project. Norbert Krapf, Karen Kovacik, and George Kalamara proceeded Shari Wagner as State Poets Laureate.

Poet Laureate News & Related Links