- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Alcohol & Tobacco Commission

Indiana Alcohol & Tobacco Commission

ATC > Rules & Laws > Keg Registration Rule Keg Registration Rule

The Keg Registration Rule was made effective on September 27, 2003. The Rule completed the review process and has been filed with the Secretary of State. Under the Rule, found at 905 IAC 1-45, all 7 ¾ and 15 ½ gallon kegs sold at retail must have a keg registration label affixed on the outside of the keg in a visible location. The labels are available from the Commission in books of 50. The cost per book is $3.25 for those purchased at the Commission counter and $5.75 for those books purchased by mail, including $2.50 per book for postage and handling. Compliance with the Rule is mandatory. A permittee who sells a keg at retail without affixing a keg registration label to it faces up to a maximum penalty of $1000 per keg and a suspension of the permit. A permittee who removes a permit in violation of the Rule faces a possible similar penalty. In addition, possession of a keg not in compliance with this Rule is a Class B infraction.

NOTE: At this time, the Keg Manufacturer ID Number and the Keg Size are not required.

For further questions, contact Julie Burton at (317) 232-2433 or