Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
Learner’s permits allow Indiana residents to practice driving before obtaining a driver’s license.
You may obtain a learner's permit if you are at least 15-years-old and are enrolled in an approved driver education program. You must show proof of your enrollment in an approved driver education program by presenting a valid Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment from the program. You must also present documents of identification, pass a vision screening test and you must also pass a knowledge examination.
A driver education program consists of classroom/online instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with an approved driver education provider.
To obtain a learner's permit if you are 16 years of age or older you must present documents of identification at a license branch and pass a knowledge examination and a vision screening test.
Indiana law requires persons with a learner’s permit to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice with a licensed instructor or with a licensed driver who is at least 25-years-old, or a spouse who is at least 21-years-old. At least 10 hours of supervised driving practice must be nighttime driving. The practice time must be maintained in a Log of Supervised Driving and presented to the BMV at the time of application for a driver’s license. The log must be signed by a parent or legal guardian.
When applying for a learner's permit you must present documents of identification proving your identity, Social Security number, lawful status, and Indiana residency.
If you are younger than 18 years of age and you do not have two original documents proving your Indiana residency, you may instead submit an Indiana Residency Affidavit. The affidavit must be signed by an individual who is 18 years of age or older and with whom you reside. The individual signing an Indiana Residency Affidavit must present their unexpired Indiana driver’s license or identification card, one document proving their identity, and two documents proving their Indiana residency. It is not necessary for individuals with an unexpired SecureID driver’s license or identification card to provide these documents.
You do not need to schedule an appointment for a knowledge examination unless you need to have the test read to you. You must arrive at least one hour before a branch closes to take a knowledge examination.
The vision screening test measures your visual ability. If your visual ability does not meet state standards you will be referred to an eye doctor for an eye examination.
If you are younger than 18 years of age Indiana law requires that applicationsfor a permit or license must be signed and sworn to or affirmed by one (1) of the following in order of preference:
An individual who signs a permit or license application for a minor agrees to be responsible jointly and severally with the minor applicant for any injury or damage that the minor applicant causes by reason of the operation of a motor vehicle if the minor applicant is liable in damages.
The adult signing the agreement of financial liability must present documents of identification proving his or her identity and age.
If you have a learner’s permit and you are enrolled in an approved driver education program you may practice driving only after you begin an approved driver education program. You may drive only when a certified driving instructor, a licensed driver at least 25 years of age, or a spouse 21 years of age, with valid driving privileges is seated in your vehicle’s passenger seat.
If you are between the ages of 16 years and 18 years and you are not enrolled in a driver education program, you may practice driving with a learner’s permit only when a certified driving instructor, a licensed driver 25 years of age or older or a spouse 21 years of age or older with valid driving privileges is seated in your vehicle’s passenger seat.
If you are 18 years of age or older, you may practice driving with a learner’s permit only when an individual at least 21 years of age, with valid driving privileges, is seated in your vehicle’s front passenger seat.
You may obtain a new learner’s permit once your current permit expires, or replace one that is lost or stolen, by visiting a license branch and presenting certain documents of identification.