- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Commission for Women

ICW > Initiatives > Torchbearer Awards Torchbearer Awards

2015 Torchbearer Awards Nominations Deadline extended to August 10, 2015

The Indiana Commission for Women (ICW) will honor the recipients of the 2015 Torchbearer Awards on September 23, 2015, at its annual Ceremony held at the Indiana Historical Society, 450 West Ohio Street. The Torchbearer Awards ceremony is a program that recognizes the women of Indiana who have been pioneers throughout their lives or who have stepped forward as leaders by breaking down barriers to women’s full participation. These women have become true beacons of light and their stories of courage, perseverance and compassion create a lasting legacy of inspiration for us all.

Details for the 2015 Torchbearer Awards Ceremony are:

Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Indiana Historical Society
450 West Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN  46204
Registration begins at 4:30 PM | Program begins at 5:00 PM
Reception immediately following.

Registration is open at For more information about the upcoming event, contact Kristin Garvey, Executive Director at (317) 232-6720 or

About the Awards

Torchbearers are the State of Indiana’s most prestigious recognition of women in Indiana. They are women who have stepped forward as leaders by breaking down barriers to women’s full participation. These women become lasting legacies for us all by overcoming immense challenges with courage, perseverance and compassion.

Recipients will be selected from a pool of nominated candidates who have overcome obstacles, made extraordinary contributions or been pioneers throughout their lives. Selection will be based on the recipients’ demonstrated achievement in the areas of their professional careers, community leadership and/or public service. Recipients must be living at the time of their nomination. Nominations will be evaluated with attention given to those women who have shown courage and perseverance, have been pioneers, have removed barriers and/or have made a considerable impact to the advancement of women in Indiana.

The Torchbearer Award recipients are selected by a panel of previous Torchbearer Award recipients. These women, referred to as the Council of Judges, represent diverse geographic regions and professional backgrounds and make their decision based on nominations received from the public.  Nominated women are scored based on several criteria and must receive a unanimous decision in order to be selected.

History of the Torchbearer Awards

The Torchbearer Awards were created by the Indiana Commission for Women (ICW) to recognize Hoosier women who have overcome or removed barriers to equality or whose achievements have contributed to making our state a better place in which to live, work and raise a family.  Recipients are women who have been pioneers in their industries, have inspirational stories that set the standard for other women, have faced tough choices, demonstrated character and have made significant contributions to their communities and/or to the State of Indiana. To learn more about all of the Torchbearer Award recipients visit:

Disclaimer: All decisions made by the Council of Judges are final. Selection of torchbearers should not be considered an endorsement of or promotion by the Indiana Commission for Women. Comments and opinions expressed are strictly those of the recipients and not those of the Indiana Commission for Women, the State of Indiana or its partners and supporters. The Indiana Commission for Women does not assume any legal liability of or responsibility for the accuracy or completeness of the nomination packet.