Supreme Court press release letterhead
July 30, 2010
Contact: Kathryn Dolan


The Judicial Nominating Commission selected Hon. Steven H. David, Hon. Robyn L. Moberly and Mr. Karl L. Mulvaney as finalists for the upcoming vacancy on the Indiana Supreme Court.  The Governor will choose from the three candidates to select Indiana’s 106th Justice. 

Hon. Steven H. David
Hon. Robyn L. Moberly
Mr. Karl L. Mulvaney

In May, Justice Theodore R. Boehm announced he would step down from the bench on September 30, 2010.  According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute the Judicial Nominating Commission recruits and interviews applicants to fill appellate court judicial vacancies.  The Commission provides three names to the Governor and the Governor makes the final selection.

The seven-member Commission is chaired by Chief Justice Randall T. Shepard.  It also includes three attorney members who are elected by other attorneys across the state and three non-attorney members who are appointed by the Governor.  The elected attorneys are James O. McDonald of Terre Haute, John C. Trimble of Indianapolis and John O. Feighner of Fort Wayne.  The Governor appointees are Christine Keck of Evansville, Fred McCashland of Indianapolis and Mike Gavin of Warsaw.

The Commission received thirty-four applications for the vacancy.  The applications included legal writings, educational transcripts and letters of recommendation.  The applications were placed online and two public viewings were held in the Indiana Law Library at the State House. 

On July 6th and 7th the Commission interviewed all thirty-four applicants.  The interviews were open to the press and public.  The Judicial Nominating Commission met in executive session for deliberations.  The Commission considered legal education, legal writings, public service activities and other pertinent information to find the most qualified candidates.  The vote on the semi-finalists took place in a public session.  On July 7th the Commission named nine semi-finalists.  

On July 30th the Commission interviewed the nine semi-finalists in a session open to the press and the public.  The Commission considered those nine applicants in an executive session.  The Commission then held a vote on the final nominees in public. The Hon. Steven H. David, Hon. Robyn L. Moberly and Mr. Karl L. Mulvaney were selected.  The names of those individuals will be sent to Governor Mitch Daniels.  The Governor has 60 days to select Indiana's next justice.

Photographs of the interviews and information about the Judicial Nominating Commission can be found at  Media with questions can contact Supreme Court Public Information Officer, Kathryn Dolan at (317) 234-4722 or

[an error occurred while processing this directive]